Research Higher Degree students compete in 3 Minute Thesis heat

19 Jun 2015
Back Row L-R: A/Prof Peter Earl, A/Prof Heiko Gerlach, Jiayu Wang, Lasitha Pathberiya, Jacob Wu, Thanh Hong Nguyen, Brendan Markey-Towler. Front Row L-R: A/Prof Jeff Kline, Cameron Murray, Prof Victor Callan, Xuemei Zheng, Xin Li

Held on Thursday 18 June, the School of Economics’ 3 Minute Thesis heat was a resounding success.


The annual 3 Minute Thesis event challenges Research Masters and PhD students to communicate their research to a general audience within three minutes.

The heat was chaired by Research Higher Degrees Coordinator, Associate Professor Heiko Gerlach, with Associate Professors Peter Earl and Jeff Kline joining him as judges.  The School was also pleased to welcome special guest Professor Victor Callan, Associate Dean (Research) from the BEL Faculty.

The School would like to congratulate Jiayu Wang, who won both the heat and the People’s Choice prize for her presentation “Energy Efficiency Dilemma: Analysing the Rebound Effect”. As the winner of the heat, Jiayu will advance to the BEL Faculty’s 3MT® competition on Friday, 24th July 2015.

Cameron Murray was awarded runner-up for his presentation “Back Scratching. Economics”.

Other participants included:

  • Xin Li, and his presentation “Mental health interactions between spouses in Australia”
  • Brendan Markey-Towler, and his presentation “Foundations for a new Microeconomics?”
  • Thanh Hong Nguyen, and his presentation “Vietnam state-owned enterprise reform: A productivity and efficiency perspective”
  • Lasitha Pathberiya, and his presentation “Economics recession and jobless recovery: Monetary policy options”
  • Jacob Wu, and his presentation “Measuring inequality of opportunity”
  • Xuemei Zheng, and her presentation “Consumers’ preferences for green electricity and regulatory incentives”

Well done Jiayu, Cameron, Xin, Brendan, Thanh, Lasitha, Jacob and Xuemei! We look forward to seeing Jiayu compete on 24 July.

If you wish to support Jiayu at the BEL 3MT® competition, event details are as follows:

DATE: Friday, 24 July 2015

TIME: 1:45 pm for a 2:00pm start

VENUE: Seminar Room 212, Level 2, Sir Llew Edwards Building (#14), St Lucia campus