About the lecture

The lecture will briefly discuss how the experimental and behavioural study of decision making can have important policy implications. 

It will focus on three sample applications from Professor Zizzo's research:

  • the effect of social comparisons on technological innovation adoption;
  • consumer inattention leading to insufficient switching in markets for services, and the implications this has for consumer policy, based on laboratory experiments; and
  • the effect of pricing and nudge (signposting) interventions on the purchase of healthier cereals and soft drinks, based on an online experiment with a representative sample of the UK population.

Order of proceedings

Time Activity
4pm Event registration opens
4.15pm Welcome addresss - Professor Andrew Griffith, Executive Dean, Faculty of Business Economics and Law
4.20pm Keynote presentation - Professor Daniel Zizzo, Academic Dean and Head of School, School of Economics
5.05pm Q&A
5.15pm Networking
6pm Event closes

About the presenter

Professor Daniel Zizzo

Professor Daniel Zizzo is the Academic Dean and Head of School for the School of Economics. He is a Research Associate in the Centre for Applied Macroeconomic Analysis (CAMA) at Australian National University and a member of the UEA Centre for Behavioural and Experimental Social Science (CBESS) and of the RCUK Centre for Copyright and New Business Models in the Creative Economy (CREATe). 

Professor Zizzo is also a Coordinating Editor of Theory and Decision and, among his other roles, he is both a Fellow of the ESRC Peer Review College and a member of the ESRC’s Centre for Doctoral Training (CDT) Peer Review College. He is also an Associate Member of the EPSRC Peer Review College and an ARC Assessor. Professor Zizzo was also Secretary of the Conference of Heads of University Departments of Economics (CHUDE), a committee of the Royal Economic Society, for six years. 

Professor Zizzo is primarily an experimental and behavioural economist, and his research is motivated by the search for more realistic empirical and theoretical foundations of economic decision making, using mainly experimental, but also analytical and computational methods as required. He considers himself a mainstream economist, but one interested in pushing forward the boundaries of mainstream economics, and one firmly committed to a wider perspective as an interdisciplinary social scientist.

Prior to joining the School in October 2018, Professor Zizzo was Dean of Research and Innovation in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences at Newcastle University and a Professor of Economics at Newcastle University Business School.

View photo gallery

Colin Clark Memorial Lecture 2018

Read more about the event

About Colin Clark Memorial Lecture

The Colin Clark Memorial Lecture is our most prestigious annual event, now in its 29th year. 

It is held each year to recognise Dr Colin Clark’s outstanding contribution to the field of economics. Dr Colin Clark was a UQ Economics academic whose work on national income accounting was fundamentally important to the development of macroeconomics and to the approach of John Maynard Keynes. Dr Clark's greatest contribution to economics was his pioneering role in the construction of national accounts.

Previous speakers

Year Speaker
Inaugural 1991 Emeritus Professor Jim O.N. Perkins
Second 1992 Emeritus Professor Heinz Wolfgang Arndt
Third 1993 Professor Peter Groenewegen
Fourth 1994 Emeritus Professor H.M. (Ted) Kolsen
Fifth 1995 Professor Warren Hogan
Sixth 1996 Dr Peter Crossman
Seventh 1997 Professor Geoffrey Harcourt
Eighth 1998 Mr Ian Castles
Ninth 1999 Mr Ted Evans
Tenth 2000 Professor Bob Gregory
Eleventh 2001 Dr Peter McCawley
Twelfth 2002 Mr Ian Macfarlane
Thirteenth 2003 Mr Angus Maddison
Fourteenth 2004 Professor Allan Fels Ao
Fifteenth 2005 Professor Stan Metcalfe CBE
Sixteenth 2006 Professor Alan Heston
Seventeenth 2007 Professor Ian Harper
Eighteenth 2008 Mr Gary Banks AO
Nineteenth 2009 Dr David Gruen
Twentieth 2010 Professor Erwin Diewert
Twenty-first 2011 Professor Stephen King
Twenty-second 2012 Professor Ross Garnaut
Twenty-third 2013 Professor John Quiggin
Twenty-fourth 2014 Professor Dale Jorgensen
Twenty-fifth 2015 Professor Alison Booth
Twenty-sixth 2016 Professor Leslie M. Marx
Twenty-seventh 2017 Professor John Quiggin
Twenty-eighth 2018 Professor Daniel Zizzo
Twenty-ninth 2019 Professor Alicia Rambaldi
Registration is free


Sir Llew Edwards Building (#14) UQ St Lucia
Level 6, Terrace Room