Unscrambling the Toll Road Egg:  How Toll Roads Locked Irrational Pricing and Options for a More Effective Approach

Presented by:  Professor John Quiggin, The University of Queensland

This year’s Colin Clark Lecture was giving by Professor John Quiggin, a Laureate Fellow in Economics at the University of Queensland. Professor Quiggin’s presentation explored Australia’s history and strategy on toll road pricing. Professor Quiggin is prominent both as a research economist and as a commentator on Australian economic policy. He is a Fellow of the Econometric Society, the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia and many other learned societies and institutions. He has produced over 1500 publications and has also written on policy topics including climate change, micro-economic reform, privatisation, employment policy and the management of the Murray-Darling river system

The School of Economics is very grateful for Professor Quiggin stepping in to present at such short notice, due to unforeseen circumstances

Professor Quiggin’s full Colin Clark presentation can be viewed here.

About Colin Clark Memorial Lecture

The Colin Clark Memorial Lecture is our most prestigious annual event, now in its 29th year. 

It is held each year to recognise Dr Colin Clark’s outstanding contribution to the field of economics. Dr Colin Clark was a UQ Economics academic whose work on national income accounting was fundamentally important to the development of macroeconomics and to the approach of John Maynard Keynes. Dr Clark's greatest contribution to economics was his pioneering role in the construction of national accounts.

Previous speakers

Year Speaker
Inaugural 1991 Emeritus Professor Jim O.N. Perkins
Second 1992 Emeritus Professor Heinz Wolfgang Arndt
Third 1993 Professor Peter Groenewegen
Fourth 1994 Emeritus Professor H.M. (Ted) Kolsen
Fifth 1995 Professor Warren Hogan
Sixth 1996 Dr Peter Crossman
Seventh 1997 Professor Geoffrey Harcourt
Eighth 1998 Mr Ian Castles
Ninth 1999 Mr Ted Evans
Tenth 2000 Professor Bob Gregory
Eleventh 2001 Dr Peter McCawley
Twelfth 2002 Mr Ian Macfarlane
Thirteenth 2003 Mr Angus Maddison
Fourteenth 2004 Professor Allan Fels Ao
Fifteenth 2005 Professor Stan Metcalfe CBE
Sixteenth 2006 Professor Alan Heston
Seventeenth 2007 Professor Ian Harper
Eighteenth 2008 Mr Gary Banks AO
Nineteenth 2009 Dr David Gruen
Twentieth 2010 Professor Erwin Diewert
Twenty-first 2011 Professor Stephen King
Twenty-second 2012 Professor Ross Garnaut
Twenty-third 2013 Professor John Quiggin
Twenty-fourth 2014 Professor Dale Jorgensen
Twenty-fifth 2015 Professor Alison Booth
Twenty-sixth 2016 Professor Leslie M. Marx
Twenty-seventh 2017 Professor John Quiggin
Twenty-eighth 2018 Professor Daniel Zizzo
Twenty-ninth 2019 Professor Alicia Rambaldi
Registration Fee
$40 - Individual Ticket
$370 - Group Book (table of 10)


Customs House
Long Room