

University of Queensland School of Economics Student Economics Competition

Each year, the Queensland Economics Teacher's Association (QETA) conducts a student economics competition in separate divisions for Year 11 and Year 12 students. The competition is sponsored by the University of Queensland School of Economics.

The 2020 competition winners were as follows:

Year 11

First Place

Pat Trappett – Brisbane Grammar School Sam Bizzell – Brisbane Grammar School William Staib – Brisbane Grammar School Naveen Hingorani – Cannon Hill Anglican College Luke Palmer – Villanova College

Second Place

Alex Lusis – Brisbane Grammar School Roger Look – Brisbane Grammar School Tom McCarthy-James – Brisbane Grammar School Walter Nedov – Brisbane Grammar School Curtis Shyu – Cannon Hill Anglican College

Third Place

Alex Tong – Brisbane Grammar School Alexander Larder – Brisbane Grammar School Angus Duncan – Brisbane Grammar School Anton Saulov – Brisbane Grammar School Ben Rainbird – Brisbane Grammar School Geoffrey Xu – Brisbane Grammar School Kaif Mohammed – Brisbane Grammar School Ryan Wang – Brisbane Grammar School Simon Gong – Brisbane Grammar School Sam Albrecht –St Peters Lutheran College Ryan Walker – Villanova College



Year 12

First Place

Tim Rainbird – Brisbane Grammar School Jemima Noller – Corinda State High School Maggie Ding – IES College

Second Place

Lua Jarrah – Brisbane Girls Grammar School Chad O'Brien – Brisbane Grammar School Jayden Ho – Brisbane Grammar School Kishen Hargovind – Brisbane Grammar School Lewis Luck – Brisbane Grammar School Adeleine Watson – Somerville House Ben Marriott – St Laurence's College Darcy Douglas – The Southport School

Third Place

Hannah Pearson - Brisbane Girls Grammar School Andrew Yuan – Brisbane Grammar School Cadmus Wang – Brisbane Grammar School Callum Wishart – Brisbane Grammar School Flynn Boorer – Brisbane Grammar School Olivia Ryan - Loreto College, Coorparoo Lehak Panjanani – Mansfield State High School Reagan Chang – Saint Stephen's College Hilary Barrett – Somerville House Eashan Nakar – St Peters Lutheran College Isaak Collie – Villanova College Brayden McConnell - Wavell State High School Kyle Montgomery – Wavell State High School